Birth Pause (inspired by Talk Birth)

Reading this http://talkbirth.me/2012/03/28/birth-pause/  has put words to my own observations that had not  yet become thoughts. “Birth Pause” sounds very poignant and relevant to what happens when a baby’s birth goes smooth and linear.

As a midwife I try always to check with mums-to-be if they want baby delivered onto their lower abdomen, most do and some want them wiped beforehand. Additionally baby stays there for at least a minute if active management has been chosen for birthing the placenta, which allows for the birth pause. But maybe to leave baby there in future, even once cord is cut instead of moving baby towards the breast would allow the mum to further inhale and exhale until she is ready herself to reach for her new baby (we are all different and our birth pauses will differ in timing for each individual and for each birth). This happens quite naturally when physiological management is chosen, as there is no reason for me to be moving baby unless asked or cord is short.

Additionally babies are known to crawl by reflex to the breast, this I have seen and it is quite amazing! So my new mantra will be “leave baby be for birth pause”.

Image

5 Comments

Filed under Birth, childbirth, labour and birth, Midwife, Midwifery, skin-to-skin

5 responses to “Birth Pause (inspired by Talk Birth)

  1. mommybabyspot

    I’ve never seen the birth crawl and really hope I get to with my next baby. What are your thoughts on helping mom breasfeed with that first latch? I’m kind of torn because I personally want to be left totally alone and see if me and baby can figure it out. (granting a normal, drug-free birth that is). Do you think this is better in general, or do you think most moms would welcome the help? I think I’m more annoyed because nobody asks they just start grabbing my boob and sticking the baby on it and I’m too la-la land still to be like “umm, excuse me, we got this!”…would love to hear your thoughts.

    • It should absolutely be your thing to figure out. Women can be very anxious though so I encourage skin-to-skin, nose-to-nipple and just wait patiently, talk and welcome baby to this world. I usually say to give it 15 mins and generally it works. If mum wants more assistance it’s always on offer.

      The above works later on too, if trouble feeding I believe – it is all about patience and giving it time. But in these modern times we want it all now, this second and babies take their time.

      • mommybabyspot

        Everything, every part of the birth process, seems rushed to me (but then they want to keep you in the hospital forever for no real reason?!) Slowing down to the baby’s pace for birth and immediately after would probably help most people involved

  2. That is a lovely way of describing it! Just a question though, do you wait just one minute to clamp and cut the cord? I have been reading increasingly strong advice on waiting until it has finished pulsating. Is this just a UK thing I wonder?

    • Rather late reply….. been away from the blogging world and can’t believe how long it actually have been? However, I still thought I’d answer your question. Theoretically at the time, clamping and cutting the cord at 1 minute was in many midwives opinion ‘out there’, they were cutting much sooner. I have never understood the rush myself and have always been fairly relaxed about it, I am of the opinion, don’t clamp until baby has cried, unless it’s dusky/white. As long as cord is pulsating strongly the baby is getting oxygen. Once baby has cried, I usually give the injection, congratulate the new parents, asks who wants to cut the cord, then clamp. By this stage roughly 2-3 minutes have gone.
      Now since the RCM issued their statement in the autumn of 2012, the trend has turned and ‘delayed cord clamping’is in, it felt like it happened overnight!

Leave a comment